librarytart

Reading the local library from A to Z

A drawn-out historical saga

with 8 comments

Allende, Isabel ~ Daughter of Fortune

When I selected this book I thought
This has to be part of the unintentional family grouping on the A shelf, and I’ve never read an Isabel Allende book. I know, I know, famous and critically-acclaimed writer who’s sold mountains of books; I’m playing catch-up.

50-word description
In mid-1800s Chile, an orphan baby is taken in and raised by a middle class British family. The girl defies her careful upbringing and falls pregnant, which sparks a series of dangerous journeys to find her lover who is pursuing wealth in the Californian gold fields.

150-word review
My mother used to bring home towers of secondhand books when I was young and I did my historical saga apprenticeship with the biggest of James A Michener and Leon Uris.

I haven’t read one for a while though and was let down by Allende’s almost reportage style of narrative. New characters kept walking onto the pages and tedium set in while determining passages that could be skimmed and when sharp concentration was required to keep track of the central story. My yardstick of a book is how late I stay up reading on a work night – this was all early nights and I could easily control idle curiosity about how heroine Eliza’s life would pan out.

Allende’s descriptions of Chile, California and China were well rendered, as were her portrayals of social classes and perspectives of women during the period. Apart from that, trying to find memorable themes to discuss a week after finishing the book is a challenge.

isabel allende ~ daughter of fortune

isabel allende ~ daughter of fortune

Found in
Fiction A

Borrowed
Nov 08

Author’s link:
Author’s web site

Rating
Underwhelming

This is book 10 of the project.

Written by librarytart

6 December 2008 at 11:14

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey stop reading so quickly. I have read 1 out of the 10 and another 3 arrived for me at my library today. They asked me if I had an “A” fetish 🙂

    I had to tell them about your mission.You are now famous in my local library!!

    Miss T

    9 December 2008 at 23:45

  2. I feel like an “A” pervert when I rock up to the counter with a handful, so now I throw in some decoys from other letters to mix it up.

    You are a classic! Which ones are you going to read? I hope the Chris Abani and Ali Alizadeh as they were my sweetest discoveries so far.

    My next post won’t be a book review then :-).

    xxx

    librarytart

    10 December 2008 at 16:11

  3. I am on a Chris Abani binge and have read Becoming Abigail which was good but I just finished “The Virgin of The flames” by the same which was rocking. I think you would love it. The Kept man and the Household guide to Dying just arrived in my library bag 🙂
    The New Angel is awaiting a pick up!

    Miss T

    11 December 2008 at 1:24

  4. I haven’t read ‘The Virgin of Flames”, so thanks for the recommendation. I bought “Song for Night” a few weeks ago and loved it, so I’m going on a bigger Abani binge as well :-). ‘A’ is a rocking good letter so far!

    Can you leave a comment on “The Kept Man” when you’ve read it? Am very interested in your opinion as I loved it but can see how it divides others!

    librarytart

    11 December 2008 at 16:44

  5. Song for Night will haunt you … at least, it’s still haunting me. I saw Abani on Enough Rope with Andrew Denton, and he captured my interest straight away.

    My libraries (I am sneakily a member of several in Melbourne and central Vic) already know me as a binger … I do most of my borrowing by compulsively reserving online, then dropping in to pick up piles at regular intervals. Makes it feel more like online shopping, and (in theory at least!) stops me *buying* too many more books.

    Oh, and for relevance: note to self, read some Allende.

    ThePurpleOwl

    17 December 2008 at 11:19

  6. Ahhh, so you do the multi-library snatch and grab, yet they still know who you are … good thing you’re not south or I’d have to elbow you out of the reserves queue or something :-).

    I read that Allende’s other books are a better read; I’ll check Library Thing and see if I can remember which ones. I might re-visit her over Christmas as I can’t judge an author on only one book.

    librarytart

    17 December 2008 at 16:09

  7. Haha PurpleOwl-glad to see others do what I do. I have been banned from reserving so many books and have been chatted about the huge numbers of books I order from other libraries all over the state. I told them they better watch out or I would start ordering books from different STATES hehehe.

    I am very lucky that a very good friend of mine is working at my local now.She breaks all the rules for me. (And yes I have no life!)

    Miss T

    17 December 2008 at 23:34

  8. Oh, okay, I’m a mere amateur in this book borrowing business. I can’t believe they’re on your case, Miss T! *plots campaign to borrow ‘A’ books from all libraries in Victoria to see if a SWOT team is deployed*.

    librarytart

    18 December 2008 at 5:07


Leave a comment